What are the 6 sequences of yoga- Learn at Home

There are various sequences in yoga that focus on different aspects of the practice, but there are six main sequences that are commonly referred to in modern yoga. These are:

Sun Salutations (Surya Namaskar): 

A dynamic sequence of postures that is often used as a warm-up at the beginning of a yoga practice. Sun Salutations help to warm up the body and prepare it for more challenging poses.

Standing Poses: 

These postures help to improve strength, balance, and stability. Examples of standing poses include Warrior I, Warrior II, and Triangle Pose.

Forward Bends: 

These postures are designed to stretch the hamstrings, hips, and lower back. Examples of forward bends include Seated Forward Fold, Standing Forward Fold, and Wide-Legged Forward Fold.


These postures help to open up the chest, stretch the front of the body, and strengthen the back muscles. Examples of backbends include Cobra Pose, Upward-Facing Dog, and Bridge Pose.


These postures help to improve spinal mobility and digestion. Examples of twists include Seated Spinal Twist, Half Lord of the Fishes Pose, and Revolved Triangle Pose.


These postures involve placing the heart above the head and help to improve circulation, balance, and focus. Examples of inversions include Headstand, Shoulderstand, and Handstand.

How to learn yoga online free – At Home

These six sequences are often combined into a complete yoga practice that includes a variety of postures, breathing techniques, and relaxation. However, it’s important to note that not all yoga practices follow this exact structure, and there are many variations and styles of yoga that may incorporate different sequences or emphasize different aspects of the practice.

Leave a Comment