What is Laya Yoga Meditation

Laya Yoga Meditation – Do you want to be an active person or a reaction person? We have always reacted and never acted in our lives.

We react to our surroundings, to various stimuli and influences, and there has never been any positive action on our part to contribute to our internal or external growth toward harmony.


Image source: Image by nikitabuida
The practices of Laya Yoga can be most effectively experienced when one has the ability to act, to move beyond the aspect of reaction.

So, are you ready to go? Then let’s take a look at the Laya Yoga Meditation.

The Laya Yoga Meditation Process

Make your body upright and straight, with your hands on your knees or in front of you wherever it is most comfortable. Deeply inhale and chant Om three times.

Make yourself aware of your surroundings. Recognize the silence in your surroundings as well as within your own body and mind.
Complete awareness of the entire body, from the top of the head to the tips of the toes.
Examine the internal state of your body. Understand how you feel on the inside. Take note of your feelings of comfort and discomfort, heaviness and lightness, tension, and relaxation.
Internally, be aware of your entire body, from head to toe, and observe your entire body.

Image source : freepik

Be aware of the sensations of stillness, motionlessness, and silence as you observe the body.
You can move your body at any time, but do not let it distract you. Keep an awareness of silence and stillness within yourself.
Examine the natural breath flow now.
Examine the natural breath flow within the nostrils.
The breath moves up and down within the nostrils during inhalation and exhalation. Concentrate on the movement of the breath within the nostrils.

Determine which nostril is open and flowing, and become conscious of the swara.

Second Step Of Laya Meditation

We breathe in and out normally, but the mind or consciousness observes which channel the breath flows in and out through, and this is swara knowledge.
If the breath flows more freely in and out of the left nostril, this indicates that ida flow is active.

When the breath flows more freely in and out of the right nostril, the pingala is active. If you can feel the breath flowing through both nostrils, Sushumna is active.

Concentrate on the swara and the inhalation and exhalation processes.
Once you’ve identified the swara, pay attention to the state of your body, brain, emotions, mind, and consciousness.

Determine whether or not the qualities of the flow, the swara, are manifesting in the body, brain, mind, emotional structure, or psyche.

If the ida is flowing, the qualities of the ida will manifest as introversion, passivity, or relaxation.

When pingala is flowing, the qualities of pingala manifest throughout the entire personality. You may feel vitality, mental dynamism, alertness, or even dissipation, mental diversion, or attention diversion.

Third Step Of Laya Meditation

You may experience inner harmony, silence, peace, and bliss if Sushumna is flowing.
Recognize the dominant guna, the quality that affects the entire personality. The quality of ida, pingala, or Sushumna is currently dominant within you. Take note of that.
You must recognize the nature, state, and qualities manifesting within you along the swara.
The nature of the states manifesting within the body and mind at the time of ida is tamasic. Tamasic in the positive sense, not negatively. Tamasic in terms of passivity and introversion.
If the pingala is flowing, the physical and mental states will be rajasic: dynamism, vitality, alertness.

Examine the guna of the various flows, of the various swaras.
When Sushumna flows, the guna or inherent quality is sattwa. Harmony, peace, stillness, and silence will be experienced.

Awareness of the swaras and gunas that are currently manifesting in you.

And now consider the body’s space. Feel space from your head to your toes, pervading your entire body internally. Concentrate your attention and awareness on space. Examine the inner space from your head to your toes.

Fourth Step Of Laya Meditation

Continue to shift your awareness from one direction to the next and become aware of the vastness of space within your own body. When we begin to focus our attention, all of our experiences take place in the space of the head.

You must move your awareness from the head down into the entire body in this practice and have the vision of space pervading different parts of the body internally.
Shift your focus away from your head and toward other parts of your body.

As you observe the space that pervades the entire body, you will notice that some colors naturally manifest in the form of streaks of light, colors, shapes, figures, and shadows moving, constantly moving.

Take note of the dominant colors. Normally, we see a variety of colors, but some of them stand out.
These colors represent the body’s dominant guna. Concentrate your attention now on the heart center. Complete awareness of the heart center and visualization of a tiny flame known as Chaitanya Jyoti.
Chaitanya means eternal, conscious, and Jyoti means light, flame.
Complete awareness, complete awareness of the Chaitanya Jyoti, the eternal flame in the heart region.

Fifth Step Of Laya Meditation

Combine your entire being with the flame. Feel the radiance of the flame within.
The flame’s light fills the entire inner being.
Total identification with that inner flame. Immerse yourself in the flame. Merge yourself with the flame – the entire body, mind, and brain – and experience the luminosity of that flame.
Inhale deeply and chant Om three times with me.
Internally experience your body.
Slowly open your eyes and externalize your mind.

Laya Meditation

Now stand up, don’t say anything, and walk one hundred steps in silence. It’s not your typical stroll. Move your entire vision and awareness from your headspace to the soles of your feet as you walk.

Feel the contact of the soles with the ground, as well as the pressure and sensation, with each step. As if your entire attention is focused on the soles of your feet. One hundred steps and then return in complete silence.
The Laya Yoga technique is used for meditation. However, in order to fully comprehend it, you must first understand its theory.

Also Read:

21 Benefits of Kapalbhati

15 Best Breathing Exercise

12 Powerful Mudra and Their Benefits

State of Consciousness in Laya Yoga

The states of consciousness discussed by Laya Yoga are associated with the chakras in the form of akasha. Akasha is also known as empty space. During the pratyahara and dharana practises, we become aware of chidakasha, the space of the head, in the traditional yogic system.

Hridayakasha is the heart space. The space in the lower regions of Muladhara and Swadhisthana is known as Daharakasha.
According to Laya Yoga, each chakra contains the experience of consciousness in the form of space, and different states of consciousness have been defined that one experiences with chakra awakening.

In Laya Yoga, we talk about five spaces, five states of consciousness that we deal with. Guna rahita akasha is the state of consciousness associated with muladhara: guna, attribute; rahita, without; akasha, space. Swadhisthana’s state of consciousness is called param akasha.
The final practice of Laya Yoga is to dive into the manifest dimension’s black hole and re-emerge through the manifest dimension’s white hole.

Muladhara chakra represents the black hole, and vishuddhi chakra represents the white hole.

1 thought on “What is Laya Yoga Meditation”

Leave a Comment